Skip to content

Endorsement in K-8 Education

The K-8 Endorsement program is designed for teachers who possess a current Alaska teaching certificate and wish endorsement for elementary and middle school (K-8) teaching. The program is offered by eLearning throughout Alaska. The teacher’s transcripts and experience will be evaluated and an appropriate program of studies will be prepared. The program will include courses or course equivalency for the content and methodology of K-8 instruction.

Courses: (Minimum 12 credits)

ED 2303Educational Technology
ED 320A, C or D1Art, Music or Drama in the K-8 curriculum
ED 320B1PE in K-8 curriculum
ALST 6033Alaska Literature for Children and Young Adults
ECE 6613Young Children and Literacy
ED 6153Literacy in Intermediate and Middle School Classrooms
ED 6163Math in K-8 Classroom
ED 6173Science in K-8 Classroom
ED 6183Social Studies in K-8 Classroom
ED 6193Classroom Management and Discipline
ED 621ABC3Curriculum
EDSE 4823The Inclusive Classroom
ED 6883Student Teaching (3-6 credits depending on current teaching assignment and elementary experience)

Program advisors maintain the responsibility to make substitutions and to waive classes as necessary and reasonable with the Dean’s signature as approval.


Applying to the K-8 Education Endorsement Program

Admission Requirements:

1.  Current Alaska Teaching Certificate (includes passing Praxis I scores and certificate requirements for Alaska

     Studies and Multicultural Education)

2.  Two current letters of recommendation from professionals in education

3.  Statement of Professional Objectives

4.  A resume demonstrating successful teaching

5.  Approval by Program Advisor








All education programs through the School of Education at University of Alaska Southeast are accredited by the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education, a performance-based teacher accrediting body for schools, colleges, and departments of education recognized by the Alaska Department of Education and Early Development, the U.S. Department of Education, and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation.


Content maintained by School of Education.