Skip to content

NOTE - this page has not yet been updated for the new Blackboard version 9.1.13 (May 2014) but not much has changed.  One improvement is that now when you copy Discussion forums you get the choice to copy "starter" threads or to copy only the forums so that they will be "empty" in the new course.  The latter is unfortunately not the default although it is what most people will want (unless they regularly post "starter" threads for students to reply to and want to copy those).  Scroll down the list of items to be copied and you'll find those choices under Discussions.

Use Course Copy to transfer course material and activities from one course to another.  (When Blackboard courses are on different servers you'll need to Export then Import).

You must be careful when doing a course copy to always copy things that are linked together.  For example, deployed tests  (tests posted in a content area where students would see them) are linked to both the Grade Center and to Tests, Surveys and Pools (in the Control Panel> Course Tools).  The safest course is to copy everything then delete what you don't want.

Briefly:

  • In the OLD course go to Control Panel > Packages and Utilities > Course Copy
  • Brows and select the NEW course and Select All to choose all course components
  • Submit, get a Success message and wait for an email
  • DO NOT EDIT the new course until all material is copied - it's usually best to wait a half hour or more (and to close your browser entirely and log in anew) before editing the NEW course.

More tips and Step-by-Step Instructions

 
 

Content maintained by Instructional Design Center.