Skip to content

UAS Legislative Internship Program 2012

10 interns are mostly from UAA or UAF

This session’s Legislative Internship program has ten interns. Most are from UAA or UAF. They are registered at UAS for the session.

They are: Katya Wassilie-Sen. Bettye Davis, Alejandro Cuautili-Rep. Chris Tuck, Shayan Ely- Sen. Lisel McGuire, Arthur Martin-Rep. Peggy Wilson, Monika Kunat-Rep. Beth Kerttula, Thomas "TJ" Presley-Sen. Bill Wielechowski, Grace Abbott- Sen. Johnny Ellis, Jordan Schilling-Sen. John Coghill, Tyler Spaan-Rep. Scott Kawasaki, Jon Taylor-Sen. Cathy Giessel.

According to Assistant Professor of Political Science Glen Wright, each of the interns is working full time with their respective office.  Each intern is responsible for moving at least one bill or resolution through the committee process and getting it passed, tracking several bills' progress through the legislative process, general legislative and policy research, constituent communications, and a range of other tasks.  UAS interns are involved in the legislative process in a very real, substantively important way.   


Content maintained by Webmaster.