Skip to content
 Scroll To Top

Alaska College of Education

As part of the University of Alaska’s Strategic Pathways process, the Board of Regents seeks to greatly expand the number of Alaskan-educated teachers, principals, and superintendents for Alaska’s schools. Nearly two-thirds of all new teachers hired in Alaska each year come from out-of-state. Many stay for only a few years. Research shows that students’ education is enhanced by teachers who know our state: its history, economy, cultures, and languages. President Jim Johnsen outlined a goal that, by 2025, 90 percent of all new teacher hires in Alaska will be educated at the University of Alaska. 

To achieve that goal, the Board of Regents approved creation of the Alaska College of Education--based at the University of Alaska Southeast (UAS). The new college provides leadership statewide in teacher education and educational leadership programs by advancing coordination, collaboration, and partnerships at all three UA universities.  Students continue to have opportunities to complete teacher education programs at those universities, but the change supports greater program alignment and efficiencies. Dr. Steve Atwater now serves as Executive Dean of the college, which is guided by a UA-wide Teacher Education Council and by an External Advisory Committee made up of Education stakeholders across Alaska.



Presentation thumbnail image

Friday, December 14

December 14, 2018

Presentation thumbnail image

Friday, November 30

November 30, 2018

Presentation thumbnail image

Friday, November 16

November 16, 2018

Presentation thumbnail image

Friday, October 26

October 26, 2018

Presentation thumbnail image

Friday, October 12

October 12, 2018

Presentation thumbnail image

Friday, September 28

September 28, 2018

University of Alaska Anchorage

Claudia Dybdahl
Acting Director of the School of Education

Ginger Blackmon
Assistant Professor, Graduate Studies 

Cathy Coulter
Professor, Elementary Education

Paul Ongtooguk
Term Assistant Professor, Indigenous Education

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Amy Vinlove
Associate Professor and Director of the School of Education

Douglas Cost
Assistant Professor

Diane Kardash
Term Assistant Professor

Sean Asiqluq Topkok
Assistant Professor

University of Alaska Southeast

Steve Atwater -  Chair
AKCOE Executive Dean

Virgil Fredenberg
Professor of Education, Mathematics

Jeffrey Lofthus
Professor of Education

Angela Lunda
Assistant Professor of Education

The statewide teacher education council will be chaired by the college’s executive dean and will be made up of faculty and administrative members from all three universities. The council will be given performance goals, empowering it to recommend changes to campus-specific programs that would meet the interests of our students and school districts. This will ensure alignment across the system. The council would also formulate funding requests and have access to all teacher education program budgets.


All education programs through the Alaska College of Education at University of Alaska Southeast are accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). CAEP accreditation signifies that the AKCoE has met the rigorous standards set forth for educator preparation.


Content maintained by Alaska College of Education