Skip to content
 Scroll To Top

Emeritus Faculty

Appointment as professor emeritus or emerita is an honor conferred by the Chancellor, on just a small portion of retiring professors who have demonstrated excellence, following consideration of recommendations by the faculty, upon an outstanding retiree of the university as described in Policy and Regulation 04.04.070 -- Emeritus Status.

Criteria for Candidacy

  • A full-time faculty member who has attained the rank of full professor and who has retired after a minimum of 10 years at the University of Alaska Anchorage immediately prior to retirement may be honored through appointment as Professor Emeritus.
  • Recommendations for conferring emeritus status may be made by the appropriate dean to the appropriate Promotion Committee to be evaluated on the basis of the criteria for promotion to the rank of full professor with the added caveat that the position of professor emeritus is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon a retiring faculty member.  The Committee’s recommendations will be forwarded to the Chancellor whose decision is final and non-revisable.
  • In exceptional circumstances, the Chancellor may confer emeritus status on other meritorious employees who have provided a minimum of 10 years of faithful service of high quality to the institution.

UAS Emeriti 

alphabetical order

Richard Caulfield, Chancellor, Emeritus; 2020

Cathy Connor, Professor of Geology, Emerita; 2014

Marjorie Fields, Professor Education, Emerita; 2004

Richard Gard, Professor of Fisheries, Emeritus; 1992

Richard Hacker, Professor of Law Science, Emeritus; 2003

Lewis Haldorson, Professor of Fisheries, Emeritus; 2002

Ernestine Hayes, Professor of English, Emerita; 2019

Susan Koester, Professor of Communication, Emerita; 2009

Rod Landis, Professor of English, Emeritus; 2021

Jason Ohler, Professor of Education Technology, Emeritus; 2009

Lawrence Lee Oldaker, Professor of Education, Emeritus; 1999

Wallace Olson, Professor of Anthropology, Emeritus; 1994

Art Peterson, Professor of English, Emeritus; 2001

John Pugh, Chancellor, Emeritus; 2015

Katie Spangler, Professor of Education, Emerita; 2019

Mike Stekoll, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Emeritus; 2019

Sherry Tamone, Professor of Biology, Emerita, 2020

Robin Walz, Professor of History, Emeritus, 2020


Content maintained by the Office of the Provost.