Skip to content
 Scroll To Top

Faculty Recognition and Awards

The Provost's Office would like to recognize the UAS faculty for their professional accomplishments and dedication to the University of Alaska.Please take the time to read about some of the many dedicated faculty at UAS.

To nominate a faculty member for emeritus status, please consult the current faculty handbook for the process and deadlines.

UAS Faculty Excellence Award Winners
2018-19 Academic Year

Previous Award Winners

Congratulations Dr. Radzilowski - Recognition 2016-17

Dr. John Radzilowski, Associate Professor of History, recently published an article on the problems of repatriating art stolen during the World War II: "Thieves Stealing from Thieves, Victims from Victims: The Culture, Morality, and Politics of Stolen Art in Twentieth Century Poland," The Polish Review, vol. 61, no. 4 (2016). He is also author of a short review article on the work of late historian Oskar Halecki: "Oskar Halecki and the Past and Future of East Central European History," which is forthcoming in the Canadian journal East/West: Journal of Ukrainian Studies. He is a a frequent contributor of short articles and reviews to the website World War II Database (

Congratulations Dr. Buma - Recognition 2016-17

Dr. Brian Buma, Assistant Professor of Forest Ecosystem Ecology, was recently recognized for his research documenting new evidence of significant changes in our coastal temperate rainforest linked to climate change. This research was published in an article entitled "Emerging climate-driven disturbance processes: Widespread mortality associated with snow-to-rain transitions across 10 degrees of latitude and half the range of a climate-threatened conifer" for the journal Global Change Biology.

This recent publication and research prompted a story in the November 26 Alaska Dispatch News, bringing widespread public attention in Alaska to this cutting edge research that has national and international interest.

Congratulations Dr. Stekoll - Recognition 2016-17

Dr. Mike Stekoll, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, was recently appointed to Governor Walker's Mariculture Task Force, a board under the office of the governor with the function of providing recommendations to develop a viable and sustainable mariculture industry for long-term benefit of Alaska's economy, environment, and communities. Dr. Stekoll is also the recipient of the $418,577 National Sea Grant College Program award for a two-year study on developing new seaweed aquaculture in Alaska's more northern latitudes.

Congratulations Dr. Amundson - Award Winner 2015-16

Dr. Jason Amundson, Assistant Professor of Geophysics (Juneau), was recognized for his work in securing two highly-competitive National Science Foundation collaborative research grants:

  • Investigating jamming in iceberg-choked fjords with field observations, laboratory experiments, and numerical models for $96,808.  This award starts August 1, 2015 and ends July 31, 2018.  Collaborators include Justin C. Burton, Emory University and Michael B. Dennin, University of California, Irvine.
  • Impact of subglacial discharge on turbulent plume dynamics and ocean-glacier heat and mass transfer for $498,483.  This award starts September 1, 2015 and ends August 31, 2019.  Collaborators include David Sutherland, University of Oregon; Jonathan D. Nash, Oregon State University; Roman Motyka, University of Alaska Fairbanks. 

Faculty Promotions and Tenures

It is with great pride that the University of Alaska Southeast announces the recent promotion and/or tenure of our esteemed faculty.

Promotions and Tenures (AY 2017-18)

Promotions and Tenures (AY 2016-17)

Promotions and Tenures (AY 2015-16) 

Promotions and Tenures (AY 2014-15)  

Promotions and Tenures (AY 2013-14)


Content maintained by the Office of the Provost.