Skip to Main Content

Alaska Alpha Pi Mu Epsilon

Pi Mu Epsilon is a non-secret Honor Society dedicated to the promotion of mathematics and recognition of students who successfully pursue mathematical understanding.

About Pi Mu Epsilon

A UAS student meeting the following qualifications may be elected to membership by the Alaska Alpha Chapter:

  • Undergraduate students who have completed at least the equivalent of two semesters of calculus and two additional courses in mathematics, at or above the calculus level, all of which lead to the fulfillment of the requirements for a major in the mathematical sciences.
  • In addition, such students must have maintained a grade point average equivalent to that of at least 3.0 on a 4 point scale, both for all courses that lead to fulfillment of requirements for a major in the mathematical sciences, and also for all courses that lead to fulfillment of requirements for an undergraduate degree.

This election shall be irrespective of sex, religion, race, or national origin.

Alaska Alpha Chapter

The Alaska Alpha Chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon was installed by Dr. Colin Starr of Willamette University on Thursday April 17, 2014.

Chapter Officers

  • Current Chapter President: Dylan Wood (2023–2024)
  • Chapter Advisor: Andrzej Piotrowski
  • Permanent Faculty Correspondent: Chris Hay-Jahans

Chapter Members

  • Elizabeth Bruch
  • Cassandra Suryan
  • Dylan Wood
  • Alice Mehalek
  • Hailey Quinto
  • Josh Walsh
  • Katy Price
  • Amy Jenson
  • Sarah Liddell
  • Evan Carnahan
  • Zefeng (Felix) Xian
  • Michael Bushey
  • Ashlynn Kay
  • Benjamin Malander
  • Nicole Jacobs (Charter member)
  • Patricia Gerdes (Charter member)
  • Matthew Sperber (Charter member)
  • Louis Scott (Charter member)
  • Andre Bunton (Charter member)
  • Jill Dumesnil (Charter member)
  • Megan Buzby (Charter member)
  • Andre Piotrowski (Charter member)
  • Derek Eby (Charter member)

Memorable Events

April 2023

The UAS Math Club and Alaska Alpha Alpha PME hosted an outreach event on the mathematics of board games for students from Thunder Mountain High School. This event was part of a UAS URECA Project led by Alice Mehalek and involving several UAS Math Club members.

September 2017

The UAS Math Club and Alaska Alpha PME sponsored two talks by Dr. Charles Biles, Emeritus Professor of Mathematics, Humboldt State University: The Electoral College vs. A Popular Vote; and A History of Congressional Apportionment: A Mathematical Perspective.

August 2014

Andre Bunton, BS in Mathematics May 2015, won a Pi Mu Epsilon award for his presentation on Simultaneous Generation of a Basis B and a Corresponding B-CZDS at the 2014 Mathfest in Portland, OR.

April 2014

Installation ceremony of the Alaska Alpha Chapter - Thursday April 17, 2014.

After installing the Alaska Alpha Chapter and inducting Charter Members, Dr. Colin Starr of Willamette University gave a public talk titled The Nine-Point Circle and Feuerbach’s Theorem