Skip to Main Content

Emeritus Faculty

Covid-19 Office Operations

Our offices are available for in-person, phone, or video appointments. Email or call for more information. Additional information is also available on the UA coronavirus information website.

Emeritus Faculty

Appointment as professor emeritus or emerita is an honor conferred by the Chancellor, on just a small portion of retiring professors who have demonstrated excellence, following consideration of recommendations by the faculty, upon an outstanding retiree of the university as described in Policy and Regulation 04.04.070 -- Emeritus Status.

Criteria for Candidacy

  • A full-time faculty member who has attained the rank of full professor and who has retired after a minimum of 10 years at the University of Alaska immediately prior to retirement may be honored through appointment as Professor Emeritus.
  • The process for nominating a retiring faculty member for emeritus status may be found in the Full Time Faculty Handbook in the chapter on Faculty Appointments.
  • In exceptional circumstances, the Chancellor may confer emeritus status on other meritorious employees who have provided a minimum of 10 years of faithful service of high quality to the institution.

UAS Emeriti

alphabetical order

  • Richard Caulfield, Chancellor, Emeritus; 2020
  • Cathy Connor, Professor of Geology, Emerita; 2014
  • Marjorie Fields, Professor Education, Emerita; 2004
  • Richard Gard, Professor of Fisheries, Emeritus; 1992
  • Richard Hacker, Professor of Law Science, Emeritus; 2003
  • Lewis Haldorson, Professor of Fisheries, Emeritus; 2002
  • Ernestine Hayes, Professor of English, Emerita; 2019
  • Susan Koester, Professor of Communication, Emerita; 2009
  • Rod Landis, Professor of English, Emeritus; 2021
  • Jason Ohler, Professor of Education Technology, Emeritus; 2009
  • Lawrence Lee Oldaker, Professor of Education, Emeritus; 1999
  • Wallace Olson, Professor of Anthropology, Emeritus; 1994
  • Art Peterson, Professor of English, Emeritus; 2001
  • John Pugh, Chancellor, Emeritus; 2015
  • Katie Spangler, Professor of Education, Emerita; 2019
  • Mike Stekoll, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Emeritus; 2019
  • Janice Straley, Professor of Marine Biology, Emerita; 2022
  • Sherry Tamone, Professor of Biology, Emerita, 2020
  • Robin Walz, Professor of History, Emeritus, 2020