Skip to Main Content

Advisory Councils and Committees

A comprehensive list of advisory councils and committees for UAS:

School of Arts & Sciences

School of Career & Technical Education

School of Education

Advisory Committees

Campus Advisory Councils

Board of Regents Policy 02.04.04

In recognition of the importance of citizen involvement in the planning and implementation of higher education programs and services for the state of Alaska, the Board of Regents hereby establishes Campus Councils for the University of Alaska Southeast.  These councils, advisory in nature, shall offer guidance to each local educational unit and serve as a link for its public constituencies to the Board of Regents.

The chancellor shall appoint no fewer than 7 and no more than 15 persons to serve on a council in Juneau and in each community or region where a university campus is located. Council membership should be broadly representative of the constituencies served by the campus.

Council members shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for reasonable and necessary travel expenses in accordance with Policy and Regulation.

Membership on Campus Council

Membership on Campus Councils shall be determined as follows:

  1. Council members shall be residents of the campus service area. To assure vital community interests are considered, members from the following categories are recommended:
    • Local Government
    • School District
    • State Government
    • Federal Government
    • Military
    • Chamber of Commerce
    • Native Corporations

Council members appointed from one of the organizations specified in category #1 may serve until leaving the organization.

Local members of the Alaska Legislature, the president of the UAS Alumni Association and former regents of the University of Alaska may serve as ex officio members unless appointed to a designated or at-large seat.

  1. Council members shall be appointed for terms not to exceed four years. Terms of membership will be staggered to provide overlap of incumbent and new members, and members shall be eligible to serve a maximum of three consecutive terms.
  2. All terms of appointment shall expire on June 30.
  3. At least three months prior to the expiration date of an appointment, the Campus Council shall solicit nominations for new members.
  4. The Campus Council will review the nominations and forward a list of nominees through the chief administrative officer to the chancellor at least 30 days prior to the effective date of the new appointment. Appointments will be made by the chancellor. Vacancies occurring during a term shall be filled in a similar manner and replacements shall complete the unexpired portion of the term. The Campus Council may make recommendations concerning membership.

Juneau Campus Advisory Council

NameBusiness / OrganizationTitle

Sander Schjivens Chair

Wostmann & AssociatesCEO
David D'AmoreUS Forest Service, Pacific NW Research Station
Research Soil Scientist
Bruce BotelhoFormer Mayor of JuneauCommunity Advisor
Wade BrysonCBJ AssemblyAssembly Liaison
Edric CarrilloFilipino Community Inc.President
Brian HolstJEDCExecutive Director
Capt. Darwin JensenUS Coast GuardCommander, Section Juneau
Emil MackeyJuneau School BoardBoard Member
Maggie McMillanJuneau Chamber of CommerceExecutive Director
Cathy MuñozState of Alaska, Dept. of Labor & Workforce Development Deputy Commissioner
Heather NelsonHecla Greens Creek Mining Company
Community Affairs & Human Resources
Joe NelsonSealaskaBoard Chairman
Richard PetersonCentral Council Tlingit & Haida Indian Tribes of AlaskaPresident
Justin ShomanKTOO Public MediaPresident & General Manager
Frank HauserJuneau School DistrictSuperintendent
TBDBartlett Regional Hospital

Ex-Officio Members

NameBusiness / OrganizationTitle
Dr. Aparna D.N. PalmerUniversity of Alaska Southeast Chancellor
Dale AndersonUA Board of RegentsRegent
Jennifer Brown WardUA Faculty AllianceChair
Glenn WrightUAS Faculty SenatePresident


UAS Student GovernmentPresident
Robbie StellUAS Alumni AssociationPresident

Juneau Campus Advisory Council meets on the first Monday of each month during the academic year 12 noon, both in person in Egan 221 and virtually through Zoom.  Contact Keni Campbell at the UAS Chancellor's office for further info (907) 796-6509 or

Ketchikan Campus Advisory Council

Academic Year 2023-2024


Shana Criscola Chair

Cameron Cage Vice ChairKetchikan Indian Community
Timothy BoettnerUS Coast Guard Ketchikan
Jeremy BynumKetchikan Gateway Borough Assembly
Grant EchohawkKetchikan Gateway Borough Assembly
Jack FinneganKetchikan City Council
Julia HarderUS Coast Guard Ketchikan
Melissa JohnsonDeputy Superintendent Ketchikan Gateway Borough School District
Ryan OlsonVigor Shipyard

Ex-Officio Members

NameBusiness / Organization
Aparna D.N. Palmer, Ph.D.UAS Chancellor
Maren HaavigUAS Provost
William UrquhartKetchikan Campus Director
Michael RobbinsSuperintendent Ketchikan Gateway Borough School District

Scheduled Meetings

The Ketchikan Campus Advisory Council meets the second Thursday of the month, September through April, at noon in Paul 516.  

Sitka Campus Advisory Council

NameBusiness / Organization

Garry White Chair

Sitka Economic Development Association
Lisa BuschSitka Sound Science Center
Tristan GuevinSitka Tribe of Alaska
John LeachCity and Borough of Sitka, City Administrator
Cdr. Brian McLaughlinUS Coast Guard Air Station
Bonnie RichardsRetired, Business
Rachel RoyGreater Sitka Chamber of Commerce, Execuitive Director
Tim RyanNorth Pacific Seafoods
Bob SamSitka Tribe of Alaska
Roger SchmidtSitka Fine Arts Camp, Executive Director
Fran SchwuchowAlaska Employment Servivces
John Stein

Retired, Business

Janelle Vanasse

Mt. Edgecumbe High School, Superintendent 

Ex-Officio Members

Dr. Aparna D.N. PalmerUAS Chancellor
Dr. Paul Kraft

UAS Sitka Campus Director

Sitka Campus Advisory Council meetings are held once a semester.

Meetings are held from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. in room 229.

Powers, Duties, and Responsibilities of Campus Councils

The powers, duties, and responsibilities of each Campus Council shall be as follows:

  1. Advocate the interests of the campus.
  2. Participate in the recruitment, and selection, of the respective local campus chief administrative officer.
  3. Review the development of new program proposals, proposals to change existing programs, and proposals to eliminate programs.
  4. Participate in the development of campus and university mission statements, master and annual plans.
  5. Review of the proposed annual capital and operating budget requests before their submission.
  6. Review and recommend, through appropriate administrative channels, changes in Policy and Regulation.
  7. Submit reports from time-to-time to the Board of Regents on the activities and needs of the campus.
  8. Assist the chief administrative officer of the campus in the identification and development of private and public sources of revenue.
  9. Recommend members to serve on the Campus Council.
  10. Suggest ways to involve the university with the community.
  11. Encourage community participation and support in the development of university activities.
  12. Other duties at the request of the Chancellor.